

ANDREW M. CUOMO Governor Commander-in-Chief RAYMOND F. SHIELDS, JR. Major General The Adjutant General

MNHS

17 April 2020

MEMORANDUM FOR All State Employees and Supervisors of State Employees

SUBJECT: MNHS BULLETIN 2020-04: Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), Federal Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act (FEPSLA), and Emergency Family and Medical Leave Act (EFMLA)

1. **Emergency Paid Sick Leave (EPSLA):** As a result of recently enacted federal law, Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) beginning April 1, 2020, every New York State employee, regardless of Attendance Rules coverage and bargaining unit, will be eligible for up to two weeks of paid sick leave if unable to work or work from home due to reasons such as (please see US Department of Labor notice for more information):

a. Is subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order related to COVID-19;

b. Has been advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine because of COVID-19;

c. Is experiencing COVID-19 related symptoms and is seeking a medical diagnosis;

d. Is caring for an individual subject to either an order, as described above in (1), or self-quarantine, as described above in (2);

e. Is caring for the employee's child whose school or place of care is closed, or whose child care provider is unavailable, due to COVID-19; or

2. Leave for numbers a, b, and c above will be paid at 100% of an employee's regular rate of pay, up to \$511.00 daily, capped at \$5,110.00 for the two-week period.

3. Leave for numbers d and e above will be paid at two-thirds of the employee's regular rate of pay, up to \$200.00 daily, capped at \$2,000.00 for each two-week period.

MNHS SUBJECT: MNHS BULLETIN 2020-04: Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), Federal Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act (FEPSLA), and Emergency Family and Medical Leave Act (EFMLA)

4. **Emergency Expanded Family and Medical Leave (EFMAL):** In addition to the leave described above, New York State employees who have been employed for at least 30 days prior to their request for leave may be eligible for up to an additional 10 weeks of paid leave for number 5 above (i.e., caring for a child whose school or place of care is closed or whose child care provider is unavailable due to COVID-19), paid at two-thirds of the employee's regular rate of pay up to \$200.00 daily, capped at \$10,000.00 for the additional 10 week period.

5. An employee cannot be discharged, disciplined, or otherwise discriminated against for taking this leave, filing a complaint, or challenging a denial of leave in any proceeding.

6. Please immediately post on all employee bulletin boards the attached US Department of Labor notice for additional information.

7. Employees who would like to request leave under the EPSLA or EFMLA programs please contact State Human Resources (MNHS) at (518) 786-4830 with any questions regarding this Bulletin or COVID-19 matters involving state employees.

FOR THE ADJUTANT GENERAL:

Atchs:

MARILYN HARTLEY Director, Human Resources Management