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TO:     New York State Agencies and Departments 

FROM:     Jessica Rowe, Director of Staffing Services 

SUBJECT:  Guidance Related to Recent State and Federal Law and Policy Changes Due to COVID-19  

 

Introduction 

This policy bulletin provides information and implementation guidance on the recently enacted State 

Paid Sick Leave Law (Chapter 25 of the Laws of 2020) and recent policy guidance issued by the 

Governor’s Office of Employee Relations (GOER) to Directors of Human Resource Management on 

March 11, 2020.  It also describes New York State’s implementation of the Families First Coronavirus 

Response Act (FFCRA), which provides for the Federal Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act (FEPSLA) and the 

expansion of benefits under the Emergency Family and Medical Leave Act (EFMLA) related to employees 

impacted by COVID-19.  The attached chart displays how these laws and policies apply to specific 

circumstances. Also attached is an employee notice that describes these benefits. 

The information contained in this document summarizes our current understanding of the significant 

revisions to the EFMLA and FEPSLA.  Further guidance will be provided as it becomes available. 

Questions concerning this material should be directed to the Attendance and Leave Unit of the 

Department of Civil Service at (518) 457-2295. 

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE OF EMPLOYEE RELATIONS POLICY GUIDANCE 

On March 11, 2020, the Governor’s Office of Employee Relations (GOER) issued policy guidance for 

employees quarantined due to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19).  This policy relates to employees who 

are placed on mandatory or precautionary quarantine related to COVID-19. 

Eligibility 

All State employees, regardless of Attendance Rules coverage, are eligible for quarantine leave.  

Use of Leave 

This policy provides employees leave with pay without charge to accruals, for all workdays within the 

14-day period of the quarantine.  This leave will be provided regardless of whether employee is 

symptomatic. If an employee placed on precautionary quarantine can work from home, arrangements 

should be made to do so.  If not, the employee will be placed on leave with pay, without charge to 

accruals, for all workdays within the 14-day period of quarantine. 

CHAPTER 25 OF THE LAWS OF 2020 

On March 18, 2020, Chapter 25 of the Laws of 2020 was enacted to provide for a 2-week period of sick 

leave with pay, without charge to accruals. The law also authorized Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits for 

employees with minor children that are subject to mandatory quarantine or precautionary quarantine.  
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The Paid Family Leave provision is optional for public sector employers; New York State has opted not to 

implement this provision.  

Chapter 25 of the Laws of 2020 also included an exclusion for employees who had traveled to a country 

in which the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a level two or three travel 

health notice; such employees are not entitled to such leave, unless the travel was directed by their 

employer.   

Use of Leave 

The policy issued by GOER on March 11, 2020, for employees under Precautionary or Mandatory 

Quarantine, generally exceeds the quarantine benefits provided by Chapter 25 of the NYS Laws.  

Therefore, quarantine benefits should be provided to employees under the statewide GOER Policy. 

FEDERAL EMERGENCY PAID SICK LEAVE ACT 

The Federal Emergency Paid Sick Leave Act (FEPSLA or The Act) provides paid sick leave to individuals 

who are subject to quarantine or isolation, advised by a health care provider to precautionary-

quarantine, or experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a medical diagnosis.  The Act also 

provides paid sick leave for employees who are taking care of individuals in certain categories or are 

caring for a minor child whose school or place of care has been closed, or the childcare provider is 

unavailable, due to COVID-19 precautions. 

The new law took effect on April 1, 2020 and will remain in effect until December 31, 2020. The 

following describes the State’s implementation of this new law. 

Basic Requirements 

The Act provides that each employer (as defined in the Act), including the State of New York, provide an 

employee with paid sick leave to the extent that the employee is unable to work due to a qualifying 

event.  FEPSLA leave is considered a leave at full pay, without charge to accruals, for all attendance and 

leave purposes.  Leave under this Act shall be called FEPSLA leave; agencies should add this leave 

category to their automated or paper timekeeping systems. 

Eligibility 

All employees, regardless of Attendance Rules coverage, are eligible for FEPSLA leave.  There are no 

minimum service requirements for the FEPSLA benefits.  In lieu of these paid benefits, employees may 

elect to use any available leave accruals. 

Categories of Leave 

Employees who are unable to work or telework are entitled to FEPSLA for any of the following qualifying 

events:  
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1. The employee is subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order related to 

COVID–19. 

2. The employee has been advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine (termed 

precautionary quarantine in New York) due to concerns related to COVID–19. 

3. The employee is experiencing symptoms of COVID–19 and is seeking a medical diagnosis. 

4. The employee is caring for an individual who is subject to an order as described in (1) or (2) 

above. 

5. The employee is caring for a minor child of such employee, if the school or place of care of 

the minor child has been closed, or the childcare provider of such minor child is unavailable, 

due to COVID–19 precautions. 

6. The employee is experiencing any other substantially similar condition specified by the 

Secretary of Health and Human Services, in consultation with the Secretary of the Treasury 

and the Secretary of Labor. 

Pay Status/Calculation 

An employee’s pay on FEPSLA leave is calculated based on their regular rate of pay, subject to specific 

monetary caps imposed by the FEPSLA. 

An employee’s pay is calculated as follows:  

An employee shall be paid at the employee’s regular rate of compensation, subject to a cap of $511 per 

day for a maximum of $511 per day and $5,110 in the aggregate, for those employees who work a 40-

hour work week who take leave in the following categories:  

1. The employee is subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order related to 

COVID–19; 

2. The employee has been advised by a health care provider to self- (precautionary) quarantine 

due to concerns related to COVID–19; or  

3. The employee is experiencing symptoms of COVID–19 and is seeking a medical diagnosis. 

An employee shall be paid at two-thirds of the employee’s regular rate of pay, subject to a cap of $200 

per day and $2,000 in the aggregate, for those employees who work a 40-hour work week and who take 

leave in the following categories:  

1. The employee is caring for an individual who is subject to an order as described in 

subparagraph (1) above or who has been advised as described in subparagraph (2) above. 

2. The employee is caring for a minor child of such employee if the school or place of care of 

the minor child has been closed, or the childcare provider of such minor child is unavailable, 

due to COVID–19 precautions. 

An agency must use the following procedure to calculate the number of hours worked for part-time 

employees who work varied schedules from week-to-week:  
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1. Subject to (2) below, a number equal to the average number of hours that the employee 

was scheduled, per day, over the 6-month period, ending on the date on which the 

employee takes the FEPSLA leave, including hours for which the employee took leave of any 

type. 

2. If the employee did not work over such period, the reasonable expectation of the employee 

at the time of hiring of the average number of hours, per day, that the employee would 

normally be scheduled to work. 

It should be noted that FEPSLA requires that paid sick leave be paid only up to 80 hours over a 2-week 

period. For example, an employee who is scheduled to work 50 hours a week may take 50 hours of paid 

sick leave in the first week and 30 hours of paid sick leave in the second week. In any event, the total 

number of hours paid under the FEPSLA is capped at 80 hours. 

Use of Leave 

FEPSLA leave shall be available for immediate use by an employee, for the purposes described above, 

regardless of how long the employee has been employed by the State.  An employee may first use 

FEPSLA leave for the purposes described above. An agency may not require an employee to use other 

paid leave provided by the State before the employee uses FEPSLA leave. 

Leave shall be used in full day increments, except for the first day. 

Amount of Leave 

A full-time employee who works a 40-hour work week shall be entitled to 80 hours of FEPSLA leave. Less 

than full-time employees shall be entitled to a number of hours equal to the number of hours that such 

employee works, on average, over a 2-week period. 

In the case of a less than full-time employee whose schedule varies from week-to-week to such an 

extent that you are unable to determine with certainty the number of hours the employee would have 

worked if such employee had not taken paid sick time, the following procedure shall be used to 

calculate the number of hours worked:  

1. Subject to (2) or (3) below, a number equal to the average number of hours that the 

employee was scheduled, per day, over the 6-month period, ending on the date on which 

the employee takes the paid sick time, including hours for which the employee took leave of 

any type. 

2. If the employee did not work over such period, the reasonable expectation of the employee 

at the time of hiring of the average number of hours, per day, that the employee would 

normally be scheduled to work. OR  

3. If the employee did not work over a full 6-month period, average the hours worked over the 

period the employee did work.  

Employees who work 37.5 hours per week will be entitled to 75 hours of leave in a 2-week period.   



   
NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF CIVIL SERVICE 

ATTENDANCE AND LEAVE MANUAL 

POLICY BULLETIN 2020-01 

Section 21.12 & Appendix I                                    April 2020                                                       Page 5 of 9 

 

   
 

FEPSLA leave does not carry over and expires on December 31, 2020.   

FEPSLA leave provided to an employee ends at the beginning of the employee’s next scheduled work 

shift immediately following the termination of the need for paid sick time. 

An agency may not require, as a condition of providing FEPSLA leave, that the employee search for or 

find a replacement to cover the employee’s scheduled work times.   

Notification 

An employee must provide as much notice, as practicable under the circumstances, of the need for 

leave.  

After the first workday (or portion thereof) an employee receives paid sick time under this Act, an 

agency may require the employee to check in each day.  

An employee must provide an agency with notice of a change in status, as soon as practicable, after 

finding out about that change in status.  

Documentation 

An agency can require proof consistent with the categories of FEPSLA leave listed above.   

Posting and Notice Requirements 

Each agency shall post and keep posted, in conspicuous places where notices to employees are 

customarily posted, a notice, prepared or approved by the Secretary of Labor, of the requirements 

described in this Act.  That notice is available here.  

Unlawful Discrimination/Other Rights 

It is unlawful for any agency to discharge, discipline, or in any other manner discriminate against any 

employee who takes FEPSLA leave and who has filed any complaint or instituted or caused to be 

instituted any proceeding under or related to FEPSLA leave (including a proceeding that seeks 

enforcement of the Act), or who has testified or is about to testify in any such proceeding. 

FEPSLA leave shall not diminish the rights or benefits that an employee is entitled to under any other 

federal, state, or local law, collective bargaining agreement, or existing policy. There is no entitlement to 

be paid for any unused FEPSLA leave upon an employee’s termination, resignation, retirement, or other 

separation from employment.  

Definitions 

1. Employer – the State of New York is a public agency covered by the provisions of this law. 

2. Employee – employees of the State of New York.   

3. The term “health care provider” has the meaning given such term in section 101 of the 

Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (29 U.S.C. 2611). 

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/posters/FFCRA_Poster_WH1422_Non-Federal.pdf
http://uscode.house.gov/quicksearch/get.plx?title=29&section=2611
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4. Health care provider and emergency responder – United States Department of Labor 

(USDOL) guidance on employees who may be included in the exclusion can be found at: 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-questions. 

EMERGENCY FAMILY MEDICAL LEAVE EXPANSION ACT 

The federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) was revised to expand benefits for employees 

impacted by COVID-19.  These new Emergency FMLA (EFMLA) benefits are in effect April 1, 2020.  The 

changes are a temporary expansion of benefits and will expire on December 31, 2020.  The revisions 

modify current FMLA eligibility provisions and provide a new category of approved leave:  public health 

emergency leave related to the COVID-19 pandemic.  This leave is available to eligible employees who 

must take leave to care for their minor children because the school or place of care for their children has 

been closed due to the COVID-19 public health emergency.  The law also provides paid leave 

requirements for employers.   

This memorandum provides a brief overview of the revisions to the FMLA.  Agencies are cautioned that 

provisions of the FMLA must be applied in the context of State leave policy, consistent with the 

Attendance Rules and negotiated agreements. 

The information contained in this document summarizes our current understanding of the revisions to 

the FMLA related to COVID-19.  Further guidance may be provided as issues are clarified. 

Eligibility 

The FMLA eligibility criteria for employees impacted by the COVID-19 public health emergency has been 

substantially expanded. Employees absent due to the COVID-19 are only required to have worked for 

New York State for a period of 30 calendar days.  The requirement of one cumulative year of State 

service and 1,250 hours prior to the qualifying event does not apply to absences for the public health 

emergency leave related to COVID-19.   

All employees meeting the 30-day requirement are entitled to the EFMLA benefits described below, 

regardless of their eligibility for Attendance Rules coverage (i.e., hourly and per diem employees).  It 

should be noted that the normal FMLA eligibility criteria still applies to all other conditions for which an 

employee seeks FMLA. 

Amount of Leave to be Granted 

Eligible employees are entitled to 12 work weeks of public health emergency leave from April 1, 2020 

through December 31, 2020.  Any FMLA an employee used prior to April 1, 2020, for reasons other than 

those related to COVID-19, is subtracted from this additional 12 weeks of EFMLA Leave.  This new period 

of FMLA does not provide an additional 12 weeks of leave entitlement, but rather provides a new 

qualifying reason for which leave can be taken. Employees are still limited to a total of 12 week of FMLA 

for 2020. 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-questions
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Eligible employees are now allowed to take leave due to a qualifying need related to the COVID-19 

public health emergency.  The EFMLA defines a public health emergency as a COVID-19 emergency 

declared by a federal, state, or local authority.   

The only qualifying need is that the employee is unable to work or telework because the employee is 

needed to care for the employee’s minor child under age 18 due to an elementary or secondary school 

or place of care closure, or due to the unavailability of a child care provider, because of a COVID-19 

public health emergency.  Employees who have a child, age 18 or older, who is incapable of self-care 

because of a mental or physical disability shall be eligible for public health emergency leave. 

Pay During Leave 

The first 10 days of COVID-19 public health emergency leave may be unpaid, although employees have 

the option to substitute any type of available paid leave (i.e., FEPSLA, vacation, personal leave, or sick 

leave).  The Federal Emergency Sick Leave may run concurrently with this 10-day period.  

After the first 10 days, the employee is entitled to be paid for the leave.  Under normal circumstances, 

the leave is paid at two-thirds of the employee’s regular rate of pay multiplied by the number of hours 

the employee would normally be scheduled to work.  The amount of paid leave is capped at $200 a day, 

but may not exceed a total of $10,000.  For employees who work variable hours, the employer should 

calculate the average number of hours the employee was scheduled to work for the six-month period 

prior to the date the leave begins, including hours for which the employee took leave of any type (e.g., 

vacation, sick leave, etc.).  If the employee works variable hours, but has not worked for the employer 

for 6 months, the employer must use the average number of hours the employee reasonably would 

have been expected to work at the time of hire. 

COVID-19 public health emergency leave shall be used in full day increments only.   

Intersection of FEPSLA and EFMLA 

Employees taking paid sick leave because they are unable to work or telework due to a need for leave 

because they (1) are subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order related to COVID-

19; (2) have been advised by a health care provider to self (precautionary)-quarantine due to concerns 

related to COVID-19; or (3) are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and are seeking medical diagnosis, 

will receive for each applicable hour the greater of: 

o Their regular rate of pay; 

o The federal minimum wage in effect under the FLSA; or 

o The applicable State or local minimum wage. 

In these circumstances, an employee is entitled to a maximum of $511 per day, or $5,110 total over the 

entire 2-week paid sick leave period. 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fact-sheets/56a-regular-rate
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An employee is entitled to compensation at two-thirds of the greater of the amounts above if the 

employee is taking paid sick leave because they are: (1) caring for an individual who is subject to a 

federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order related to COVID-19 or an individual who has been 

advised by a health care provider to self (precautionary)-quarantine due to concerns related to COVID-

19; (2) caring for their child whose school or place of care is closed, or because their childcare provider is 

unavailable, due to COVID-19 related reasons; or (3) experiencing any other substantially-similar 

condition that may arise, as specified by the Secretary of Health and Human Services. 

Under these circumstances, the employee is subject to a maximum of $200 per day, or $2,000 over the 

entire 2-week period. 

If the employee is taking EFMLA, they may take paid sick leave for the first 10 days of that leave period, 

or they may substitute any accrued vacation leave, personal leave, or sick leave available under State 

policy. For the following 10 weeks, they will be paid for their leave at an amount no less than two-thirds 

of their regular rate of pay for the hours they would be normally scheduled to work. The regular rate of 

pay used to calculate this amount must be at or above the federal minimum wage, or the applicable 

state or local minimum wage. However, the employee will not receive more than $200 per day or 

$12,000 for the 12 weeks that include both paid sick leave and EFMLA when the employee is on leave to 

care for their child whose school or place of care is closed, or child care provider is unavailable, due to 

COVID-19 related reasons. 

It should be noted that employees cannot use existing leave entitlements (e.g., sick leave, vacation, or 

personal leave) to supplement their pay while using FEPSLA or EFMLA COVID-19 public health 

emergency leave. 

Documentation 

An employee must submit appropriate documentation to support the use of public health emergency 

leave to the extent practicable. 

Return to Work 

An employee must be restored to the same or a substantially equivalent position. 

Notice Requirements 

An employee who needs COVID-19 public health emergency leave is required to provide the employer 

with as much notice as is practicable. 

Exclusions 

The FEPSLA and EFMLA provisions allow employers to exclude healthcare providers or emergency 

responders from the provisions of the Act.  State agencies interested in exercising this option must 

consult with GOER and receive prior approval from their Deputy Secretary. Healthcare providers or 

emergency responders responding to the COVID-19 public health emergency should continue to report 
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to their agencies.  United States Department of Labor (USDOL) guidance on employees who may be 

included in the exclusion can be found at: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-

questions. 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-questions
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-questions

